Op/Ed: Expect Us

I am a dissident. With dissent comes the weird, right? I’ve been experiencing bizarre things the past few weeks, including the incident referenced here.

I have publicly advocated for the #occupywallstreet movement for months now. I covered#sept17 / #ows from the beginning on Twitter. I recorded this video and uploaded it for people to see the way the NYPD acted on Sept. 20, 2011 at Zuccotti Park. That video has over 300,000 page views.

I am visible and I have a loud mouth. I show you what I see occurring around me because the corporate media will not. The very foundation of my online presence, Korgasm, has taken a backseat to this movement. Hundreds, if not thousands, of people are missing out on their weekly dose of fap-fiction. I digress.

I am continuously in public conversation on Twitter with many people. It wouldn’t be a stretch of the imagination to think the government might take notice of my public conversations with allegedly Anonymous-associated people on Twitter.

I could be paranoid. Or all the weirdness lately could be exactly what I know it to be. To protect the innocent, I will divulge nothing further, and will not go into any further detail (of which there is much), as is my right.

I have something more to say, however.

The government hates Anonymous. They hate you and they hate me. We are all anonymous to them. Why? Because we are a nameless sea of filth to them. Because we want a fair shot at life. Because social programs that take care of society take money out of their pockets. Because ending endless wars would mean an end to the rampant profiteering. Because to let all people enjoy their lives in peaceful societies would threaten their way of life. And their way of life is greed.

Yet they play war with our lives and our livelihoods. They play games with our economy. They kick us out of our homes, to sleep in the cold, on a bench or sidewalk or in a tent, if we’re lucky.

They send our poor, patriotic sons and daughters off to be killed, because their own legacy matters more to them than a lesser human life.

The 21st Century isn’t your parents’ or your grandparents’ century. It is our century – the century which includes and creates global dialogue and ushers in the Internet revolutions.

Don’t listen to corporate media/mainstream media. Find alternate news. Find the truth. The corporate media are owned by the people who oppress us and aim to suppress us and our freedoms.

Fuck them.

They are lying to you, which includes not telling the whole truth, so help me guise-of-god.

I digress. The point is that no matter how much the government may fuck with those within the movement, they cannot touch the movement because it is an idea. It is a collection of ideas.

They can arrest us for blocking traffic …

They can pepper-spray us …


@SabzBrach hugging Julie, who was pepper-sprayed by the NYPD on Sept. 24, 2011 near Union Square. 

And they can beat us with their bats …

And they can arrest us for protecting electronic equipment with a tarp on a rainy day …

but they can’t arrest an idea.

Expect us.

— — —

by @Korgasm_ 

#wearethemedia #teamoccupyyourmom

 


-- reply

